Get the crack bigger, let the light Fill in.

I was 8 years old when someone for my birthday gave me the present that I will never forget. I got my first Encyclopedia. I was instantly hooked, stunned and so intimidated of all the information that was in this big book, it magically blow my mind. All the pictures together with  descriptions about things that I never knew existed, made me hungry for more. That was it, I couldn’t stop there. As the time was running and I was growing, I had few ideas on my own on what will be the key to get ahead in life. Knowledge ! I have realized that Knowledge It’s power. The more knowledgeable you are , the more power you have.

There is a unlimited amount of information available to us through various  sources this days. The bad news is that the limiting factor is ”YOU”.  I had come to conclusion that the problem is not the availability of information; It is how hungry your mind isHow curious you are? 

Individual combination of intelligence, persistence, and hunger for novelty, are all wrapped up in one. Curiosity! Recently, I read an article from Thomas Friedman about Curiosity Quotient (CQ). In the article, he discusses two critical drives: passion quotient (P.Q.) and curiosity quotient (C.Q.). These two together have more meaning and mattering for our individual and collective future success than I.Q alone. Curiosity is important. It makes us invest more in knowledge and thereby get a lot more in return.

Of course, it’s not enough just to acquire knowledge. Knowledge, needs to be applied. The first step to acquire that knowledge is to build it. Curiosity plays essential part in that. Don’t let ”YOU” become the limiting factor of your own growth. Read and follow your interests, and when you run into something interesting, stop everything else and study it. Polish your mind with the mind of the others, no matter if it’s just small talk with a stranger in a elevator or a good friend. Curious mind  knows that it doesn’t always know what it wants to know about.Don’t be scared to ask dumb questions. Dumb questions are very powerful because they can unlock a conversation. Don’t be just a puzzle solver, go ahead and explore the mysteries. Puzzles have definite answers and mysteries pose questions that can’t be answered definitively.

As Einstein remarked: “The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious…It is the source of all true art and science.”

 

Leave a Reply

